Whitewash allows Port Macquarie Golf Club to win Battle of the Hastings

Retaining the trophy: Port Macquarie Golf Club director Brian Harrison, left, receives the Battle of the Hastings trophy from Wauchope Golf Club captain Dennis Hughes. Port s club retained the trophy.A HOME whitewash enabled Port Macquarie Golf Club to easily retain the Battle of the Hastings trophy in the annual clash with Wauchope Golf Club.
Nanjing Night Net

At Wauchope, Wauchope won five matches to Port Macquarie’s three in the four ball, best ball event, but at Port Macquarie the home side won all eight matches.

This gave Port Macquarie a win by 11 matches to five, thus retaining the trophy.

Two pairs made 49 points with Dave McGrath and Dave Lynch beating Ken Stonestreet and Rod Noble on a countback. McGrath and Lynch made three pointers at all of the last eight holes. All up they had thirteen three pointers.

Stonestreet and Noble had a front nine that contained two four pointers and four three pointers, but they made only one point at the fourth hole. They had a countback nine of 24 points after their 25 points out.

Nick Ambrose and Mark Bensley were third with 45 points and the scratch score was taken out by John Heagney and Terry Davis with a best ball of two under par.

The ball competition went down to 41 points with a countback of 23 and the nearest to the pins went to Graeme McLaren, John Scaysbrook, Dave McGrath and Frank Godfrey.

Sunday’s medley fourball was won by Pat and Jenny McCormack who have been members of Port Macquarie Golf Club for about four months. They made 43 points to edge out Brian and Lesley worth and John and Yvone Heslin, both of whom had 42 points.

The ball competition went to 41 points and the nearest to the pins were won by Chris Dickson, Ian Jackson, Col Hardwick and Heather Williams.

In the Lower North Coast pennant Port Macquarie were to play Wingham but Wingham forfeited the division one match.

In division two, Port Macquarie suffered its first defeat, going down four matches to two against Tallwoods. Nick Ratcliffe and Bruce Duncombe were the only players to win with Stuart Rayner, Stephan Tessede, Mick Couper and Dave Lacey all losing.

The division three Port Macquarie team maintained its unbeaten record with a four and a half to one and a half win over Forster Tuncurry.

Andrew Goulding, Tim Gwyther, John Cullinane and Steve Cox all won their matches while John Oakey had a half and Nick Payne went down.

Jeremy Tydd was the only Port Macquarie player to win in the division four team’s 5-1 loss to Forster Tuncurry.

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on Nanjing Night Net.

Comments are closed.